Skip to content

Hello world!

January 24, 2007

Here’s what I put in my profile, and I guess I’ll put it here too.

I’m a mother of 3 boys, ages 5, 10 and 13, who all attend a small progressive private school.

I have a math/computer bachelor’s degree and an EECS master’s degree. I work part-time as a computer scientist. I also volunteer a few hours a week in my children’s school to help out with their math program. I teach mathematical problem solving to children from 5 to 14 years old, and I coach interested older children who participate in Mathematical Olympiads for Elementary and Middle School Students, and MathCounts for Middle School students. I don’t have any formal teacher training, but this is my 5th year doing this, and I’m getting pretty good at it. 🙂

I’m here to ramble about my experiences in this role as “math mom”.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    January 24, 2007 8:26 pm

    Hey! I’m the first commentor! Woo!

    Welcome mathmom!

    -Michelle from J96

  2. January 24, 2007 8:27 pm

    Woo, I have a comment! Hey Michelle, welcome to my blog and thanks for commenting!

  3. January 24, 2007 9:50 pm

    Hi! It’s K. from the June list! Welcome to blogging!

  4. January 24, 2007 11:33 pm

    Good luck! I’ll be reading.

    Jonathan

  5. January 26, 2007 11:06 am

    Hi Yogamum! Your comment got blocked as spam! No idea way. I just de-spammed it so hopefully it will “trust” you the next time. Thanks for visiting!

  6. February 3, 2007 5:17 am

    good luck. mathmom–
    may you ‘make most benefit glorious blog!’

    don’t hesitate to share those Olympiad and MathCounts problems; as long as you cite the source you should be able to include them

    since you are a main contributor to my blog, i will try to return the favor!
    you have given me excellent ideas and sage advice — thanks

    dave marain
    MathNotations

  7. February 3, 2007 1:02 pm

    Thanks for your kind words, Dave. My blog is not as focused as yours, but I hope you’ll find some interesting ideas here.

  8. metroplexmathcircle permalink
    January 2, 2009 9:50 am

    I didn’t see any references to Math Circles in your blog. If there is one in your area it could be a very good resource for your children:

    http://www.mathcircles.org

Leave a Reply

