Skip to content

MathCounts

January 26, 2007

And so the time of year has come to try to get together a Mathcounts team. This is made rather challenging for me by the fact that our school is so small that we only have 7 middle-schoolers, and Mathcounts is strict about not allowing kids in 5th grade or below to participate. It takes 4 kids to make a team. I have 3. I’ve resorted to cajoling, telling the 3 we have to try to convince their friends, emailing parents, and bribing the class with “grid puzzles” during the math class after Mathcounts if we have at least 4 kids at Chapter. And still, I think I’ll end up with only 3. Because of the small size of our school, Mathcounts will allow us to create a combined team with homeschoolers or another small school in our area, but I’ve thus far been unsuccessful in recruiting from any of these venues (though I do have some younger homeschoolers potentially lined up for future years).

My oldest is big into Mathcounts. This is his third and final year. And he really wants us to have a “real” team this year. But he has little influence with his peers…

And so I guess this is my annual Mathcounts whine. πŸ˜‰

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2007 12:54 pm

    Ah, reading your post makes me wish I had done Mathcounts when I was younger. But since my mom didn’t have ready access to this sort of information, I missed out. I’m absolutely sure that if she had known, she would have made me participate. πŸ™‚ Best of luck at assembling a team! And once you do have a team, best of luck in the competition!

  2. January 27, 2007 1:00 pm

    I did math competition when I was in high school but not before. Sad thing is I was selected to write the Canadian Math Olympiad but was not given any preparation or anything for it. I kind of wish I had that opportunity back.

    As far as my team goes, we’re just going “for fun” except for my son who has hopes of making it to Nationals this year. He would have to be in the top 4 in our state to make it, so that’s a lofty goal. He has made it to state as an individual for the past 2 years, so there’s a chance, but I don’t think he’s quite there. He wants it but not enough to, say, spend time on the weekends preparing or anything. πŸ˜‰ I try not to push. It’s his goal, not mine.

Leave a Reply

