Skip to content

Safe Blogging for Kids?

July 31, 2007

The neighbor kids asked me to help them set up a website for them.  I suggested a blog.  Their parents are cool with the idea of them having a blog, but I want to be sure to make it as safe for them as possible.  I already gave them the lecture on not posting private information (and we talked for a while about what that might be, etc.).  But I’m concerned about people posting inappropriate comments (particularly since it will be obvious that it’s young kids posting, and I can just see some jerk sending them something inappropriate just for kicks).

My thought is to set the blog up with an adult (one of their parents, or myself) as the administrator, and the two kids as authors, and then set “moderate all comments”.  Does that seem like a reasonable plan?  Other suggestions?

They are busily thinking up screen names for themselves 😉

Thanks!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2007 7:54 am

    For my kids’ blogs, I set it up so I get email notification of comments. If anything inappropriate comes through, I can delete it as soon as I see the email. So far, that has worked fine. (WordPress has a good comment filter,as you know.) I figured, if we do have trouble, it is easy to switch to moderating comments. But so far, there hasn’t been a problem.

    Actually, my kids have been disappointed that they haven’t gotten any spam comments so far. They think that would be a sign that they are “real” bloggers!

  2. August 2, 2007 11:52 am

    Thanks for your thoughts, Denise. Since none of their parents read email all that regularly, I think counting on them to notice an inappropriate comment “in time” might be the wrong approach for them. Maybe the “new commenters get moderated” setting would work. That way if their school friends do comment, the parents wouldn’t have to moderate everything. I’ll talk to the neighbors about the options.

    I think these guys mainly want a site to show stuff to their school friends on, so I may set it as unsearchable by google and similar search engines, which would cut down on the random visitors. Since it’s not my own children, ironically, I feel extra responsible for making sure that this is done in safe way.

    Thanks!

  3. August 9, 2007 9:49 pm

    Ah… it’s good to get some tips here about comments moderation. I’ve never thought of the consequenses arising from spammers. I’m getting my 7 y/o to write online now. Majorly to improve her grammar and writing skills.

  4. Cecdkc permalink
    October 27, 2009 6:55 pm

    Just set mine up at Zoobuh.com for my older daughter. Her email is through them, too. I hate that I feel I have to filter so much (and in time, I won’t be as worried about it), but she’s young and inexperienced, and I don’t want her exposed to unwanted emails/bloggers. There’s a cost to the service, but I feel it’s worth it.

  5. November 16, 2013 2:12 am

    It’s a good idea to make an adult as an administrator of the blog. The adult can also check what the kids have been posting online. Blogs for kids can be helpful and dangerous at the same time.

  6. January 10, 2014 8:02 am

    Great idea for kids safe. Good article.

Leave a Reply

