Skip to content

Yay! It’s a Secret Message!

December 28, 2007

message-70.jpg

A young man of my acquaintance has come up with a unique new business idea. He has decided to sell custom computer games that deliver a personalized message to the recipient/player. As the player completes each level, a little more of the message is revealed.

He figures people might like to use them instead of regular e-cards to send a birthday greeting, New Year’s card, Valentine, marriage proposal, or just for fun!

He’s listed it for sale on ebay, but since it isn’t the kind of item people are likely to go looking for (since they have no idea that it even exists) I told him I’d help spread the word a bit (with my vast 😉 blog readership)

Below you can see samples of his flower, rainbow, star and heart themes. If you think it’s a cute idea, and especially if you know of someone who might like to order one, please pass the word along.

Update:  He’s also now listed it on Etsy.  That’s a longer listing, so this link is more likely alive even if the ebay link above is stale.

Flower

Rainbow

starshot.jpg

Heart Shot

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2007 6:33 pm

    Has this guy tried solicitating directly to: 123 Greetings, Hallmark, Yahoo, etc.?

  2. December 31, 2007 6:38 pm

    Hi again Wyldth1ng — no he hasn’t tried approaching existing greeting card companies — I don’t think he’d have any idea how to do that (neither do I)! Thanks for your thoughts. In the meantime, feel free to help him spread the word. 🙂

  3. January 1, 2008 11:22 pm

    I was going to say it’s great if you can download and save the card, but I went to the site and you can, so that is great. It’s not just a card, it’s a gift. I like that too. I would get one for everybody all year long . . . EXCEPT it is PC only!! My whole family is Mac, many of my friends. What a disappointment! Hopefully he will fix this in the future.

  4. January 2, 2008 12:03 am

    Hi Andree,

    He made the game using a program called GameMaker that is PC only. Eventually I’m sure he’ll make a Mac version using another programming language (or GameMaker will expand into the Mac world), but for the foreseeable future, I think it will remain PC only. Mac folks running PC emulators could probably run it in that.

    Thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

