Skip to content

A familiar story

August 10, 2007

I once read that there are only seven basic story plots.

Here’s an amusing example of one that has been re-used more closely than we might have noticed.

I don’t know who to credit for that; it’s been “going around” without attribution.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2007 12:21 pm

    I remember that classification scheme! I think it makes sense. It’s interesting you posted this today; I just wrote about classifying today, too.

    I was studying the list, but there are a couple things I can’t figure out. What is the difference between “man vs. nature” and “man vs. the environment”? And what is the difference between “man vs. the supernatural” and “man vs. god/religion”?

    Also, wasn’t there a “man vs. society” conflict as well?

  2. August 12, 2007 9:46 am

    (off-topic, sorry!)
    Hi . . . saw your comment on JD2718’s blog about charter schools . . . and wanted to explain to you why I despise charter schools.

    If public education is meant to be for EVERY child, then the proliferation of charter schools means that the kids whose parents have the resources/ability/willingness to lift their kids out of a bad situation will do so, while those kids whose parents can’t (because of the crushing weight of poverty that makes survival itself difficult) or won’t (because of any number of factors) advocate for them are left behind in a hollow shell of what used to be a school. We need to invest in making ALL public schools better, not in sabotaging the public schools by removing the population that would best be able to agitate for change in these schools.

    Either we believe in public education, or we don’t. We certainly believe in jail . . . it’s a shame that we don’t realize that more money invested in education for kids might be a step towards less money spent on housing this population that we’ve failed in so many ways for the rest of their lives . . . (one prison in my state spends $30,000 per year on each prisoner . . . enough, as someone pointed out, to send them to an Ivy League college.)

    Read Jonathan Kozol’s _Savage Inequalities_ or any of his books if you want the full picture . . .

  3. August 19, 2007 9:53 am

    Hah! I go to comment on the StarWars/HarryPotter thingie (very cute, thank you!) and I find I’m already in the comments. Go figure..

    They taught us that classification scheme when I was a kid. I think we had six. I only really remember what my 7th grade teacher told us were the big three – M v M, M v N, M v himself.

  4. August 19, 2007 9:59 am

    And we read, see, I remember this stuff: M v M – The Most Dangerous Game and Deathwatch; M v N – To Build a Fire; M v himself – geez, I can’t remember the name of the short story about the vampire boy who has no powers, but he let’s his sister inhabit him, and she makes fun of him. Reminds me of the short story about the girl who let’s the boy steal her prosthetic leg. Anyhow, that year I think we categorized every lousy story we read.

  5. November 4, 2010 3:41 am

    actually public schools can also give great education to your kids, it is also as good as most private schools “

  6. December 3, 2010 8:42 am

    the public schools on our district can really give some good education to young kids. they have high standards ;’-

Leave a Reply

